2011 Sentence Book award and Firewheel Chapbook awards semifinalists and finalists

Sentence Book Award Semifinalists:
Tremulous, Ed Curtis
Only Stories about Skin, Timothy C. Dyke
Atmospherics, by Lohren Green
The Philosophy of Decomposition, Micheal Leong
After the Wet Influence of Bovines, Barbara Maloutas
Stay, by Kathleen McGookey
Hopeful Monsters, by Robert Perchan

The Econolodge American Dream, by Dan Gutstein
How to Kill Poetry, Raymond Luczak
The Briar Patch, Scott McFarland

Firewheel Chapbook Award Semifinalists:
Stumblefoot, by Erin Bertram
City Full of Eyes, by James Cihlar
Of Hours, by Sharon Dolin
Exotic Tropicals, by Tina Egnoski
The Western, by Lawrence Goeckel

Entrance Mediums, by Benjamin Cartwright
Bull, by Richard Downing
Black Metal, by Mike Kitchell and Christian Campos
Social Life of Snakes, by Colm O'Shea
98 Common Errors of Speech, by Sima Rabinowitz

Firewheel Editions subscribes to the CLMP Code of Ethics:

"CLMP's community of independent literary publishers believes that ethical contests serve our shared goal: to connect writers and readers by publishing exceptional writing. We believe that intent to act ethically, clarity of guidelines, and transparency of process form the foundation of an ethical contest. To that end, we agree to

1. conduct our contests as ethically as possible and to address any unethical behavior on the part of our readers, judges, or editors;
2. to provide clear and specific contest guidelines defining conflict of interest for all parties involved; and
3. to make the mechanics of our selection process available to the public.

This Code recognizes that different contest models produce different results, but that each model can be run ethically. We have adopted this Code to reinforce our integrity and dedication as a publishing community and to ensure that our contests contribute to a vibrant literary heritage."

The recipient of the Sentence Award will be selected by Brian Clements, Editor of Sentence and Firewheel Editions; the recipient of the Firewheel Chapbook Award will be selected by Brian Clements and Tom Nackid, Design Manager for Firewheel Editions. In the event that no recipient is chosen for either award, entry fees will be returned to all of the award's entrants. Authors who have published a chapbook or book with Firewheel Editions, authors who have served on the Board of Contributing Editors of Sentence, graduate or undergraduate students and relatives of Brian Clements and Tom Nackid, and all past and current staff members of Sentence and Firewheel Editions are ineligible. All manuscripts will come to the editors anonymously after screening and preparation by Firewheel staff.

Submission guidelines:

For more information on Sentence and Firewheel Editions, email info@firewheel-editions.org.

by: Lorene Delany-Ullman
$18.00 + ($3.00 S&H)
by: Re'Lynn Hansen
$15.00 + ($3.00 S&H)
by: William Todd Seabrook
$12.00 + ($3.00 S&H)
by: Samana
$30.00 + ($3.00 S&H) HB
$18.00 + ($3.00 S&H) PB